counter create hit

Bearing Witness: How Writers Brought the Brutality of World War II to Light



It has been said that during times of war, the Muses fall silent. However, anyone who has read the major figures of mid-twentieth-century literature—Samuel Beckett, Richard Hillary, Norman Mailer, Albert Camus, Jean-Paul Sartre, and others—can attest that it was through writing that people first tried to communicate and process the horrors that they saw during one of the darkest times in human history even as it broke out and raged on around them.

In Bearing Witness, John Carpenter…

Wall Watchtower And Pencil Stub

Author : John R. Carpenter  |  Pub Date : 2017-11-07  |  Publisher : Skyhorse Publishing, Inc.

ISBN 10 : 9781631580376
ISBN 13 : 163158037X

It has been said that during times of war, the Muses fall silent. However, anyone who has read the major figures of mid-twentieth-century literature—Samuel Beckett, Richard Hilla..



The Book Thieves

Author : Anders Rydell  |  Pub Date : 2017-02-07  |  Publisher : Penguin

ISBN 10 : 9780735221246
ISBN 13 : 0735221243

"A most valuable book." —Christian Science Monitor For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's librari..



Swansong 1945 A Collective Diary Of The Last Days Of The Third Reich

Author : Walter Kempowski  |  Pub Date : 2015-04-13  |  Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN 10 : 9780393248166
ISBN 13 : 039324816X

A monumental work of history that captures the last days of the Third Reich as never before. Swansong 1945 chronicles the end of Nazi Germany and World War II in Europe through hun..



Holocaust Literature Lerner To Zychlinsky Index

Author : S. Lillian Kremer  |  Pub Date : 2003  |  Publisher : Taylor & Francis

ISBN 10 : 0415929849
ISBN 13 : 9780415929844

Review: "This encyclopedia offers an authoritative and comprehensive survey of the important writers and works that form the literature about the Holocaust and its consequences. Th..



Bearing Witness

Author : Sherrill Grace  |  Pub Date : 2012-10-01  |  Publisher : McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP

ISBN 10 : 9780773587632
ISBN 13 : 0773587632

As the centenary of the Great War approaches, citizens worldwide are reflecting on the history, trauma, and losses of a war-torn twentieth century. It is in remembering past wars t..



To Move The World

Author : Jeffrey D. Sachs  |  Pub Date : 2013-06-04  |  Publisher : Random House

ISBN 10 : 9780812994933
ISBN 13 : 0812994930

An inspiring look at the historic foreign policy triumph of John F. Kennedy’s presidency—the crusade for world peace that consumed his final year in office—by the New York Ti..



The Unwomanly Face Of War

Author : Светлана Алексиевич  |  Pub Date : 2017  |  Publisher :

ISBN 10 : 9780399588723
ISBN 13 : 0399588728

"Bringing together dozens of voices ... [this is a] collection of stories of women's experiences in World War II, both on the front lines, on the home front, and in occupied territ..



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *