counter create hit

Bearing Witness: How Writers Brought the Brutality of World War II to Light



It has been said that during times of war, the Muses fall silent. However, anyone who has read the major figures of mid-twentieth-century literature—Samuel Beckett, Richard Hillary, Norman Mailer, Albert Camus, Jean-Paul Sartre, and others—can attest that it was through writing that people first tried to communicate and process the horrors that they saw during one of the darkest times in human history even as it broke out and raged on around them.

In Bearing Witness, John Carpenter…

Wall Watchtower And Pencil Stub

Author : John R. Carpenter  |  Pub Date : 2017-11-07  |  Publisher : Skyhorse Publishing, Inc.

ISBN 10 : 9781631580376
ISBN 13 : 163158037X

It has been said that during times of war, the Muses fall silent. However, anyone who has read the major figures of mid-twentieth-century literature—Samuel Beckett, Richard Hilla..



The Book Thieves

Author : Anders Rydell  |  Pub Date : 2017-02-07  |  Publisher : Penguin

ISBN 10 : 9780735221246
ISBN 13 : 0735221243

"A most valuable book." —Christian Science Monitor For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's librari..



Hitler 1889 1933

Author : Donna Faulkner  |  Pub Date : 2015-12-03  |  Publisher : New Word City, Inc.

ISBN 10 : 9781612309286
ISBN 13 : 1612309283

Germany's Adolf Hitler was, without argument, a monster. He unleashed the horrors of World War II and ordered the murder of millions in his quest to create his twisted version of a..



A World Made New

Author : Mary Ann Glendon  |  Pub Date : 2002  |  Publisher : Random House Incorporated

ISBN 10 : 9780375760464
ISBN 13 : 0375760466

A new book on the beloved first lady chronicles the achievement she was most proud of--the Universal Declaration of Human Rights--and describes her intensive efforts to forge this ..



How To Read World Literature

Author : David Damrosch  |  Pub Date : 2017-07-10  |  Publisher : John Wiley & Sons

ISBN 10 : 9781119009245
ISBN 13 : 1119009243

The new edition of this highly popular guide, How to Read World Literature, addresses the unique challenges and joys faced when approaching the literature of other cultures and era..



Ship Of Ghosts

Author : James D. Hornfischer  |  Pub Date : 2009-03-25  |  Publisher : Bantam

ISBN 10 : 0307490882
ISBN 13 : 9780307490889

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "Son, we’re going to Hell." The navigator of the USS Houston confided these prophetic words to a young officer as he and his captain charted a course in..




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *